Pre-Referral and Intervention Process (RTII / MTSS)

  •  Cambria Heights School District  Pre-Referral Teams have seen great value in the Response to Intervention and Instruction (RTII) / Multiple Systems of Support (MTSS) model and intervention process in helping identify student needs, employ research-based and validated interventions, monitor progress, and gather valuable data that may help the Team determine whether further intervention or evaluating the potential presence of a disability is warranted.  RTII and MTSS systems have three steps or tiers.  If any student is struggling academically, behaviorally or emotionally, the first step is for the classroom teacher to employ additional methods and/or interventions (often consulting with special education teachers) to help the student overcome their difficulty.  If the student still does not demonstrate a positive response / progress, a district Team considers revising interventions or moving a district student to the next level or tier of intervention.  This level usually involves more intensive supports, interventions, and monitoring of response or progress. 

    Learning Support Teachers, Reading Specialists, Speech and Language Teachers, etc. take a direct or indirect role in pre-referral levels of intervention.  Should the student still not make progress, a third level of more intensive interventions, such as individualized assessment and direct instruction in addition to regular and supplemental instruction, are implemented.   

    The Response to Intervention and Instruction / Multiple Systems of Support model implemented within the Cambria Heights School District is designed to reduce the "wait to fail" mentality by allowing students to be supported at the first sign of underachievement. The Response to Intervention and Instruction model also provides more detailed information related to a student's strengths and weaknesses which are used to develop a more effective individual program for that student. There is less emphasis on standardized assessments such as an intelligence measure in determining whether the student demonstrates a specific learning disability. 

    Parents / Guardians and others concerned about a child's performance in school are encouraged initiate the process.  Our communications with parents and caregivers (e.g. handbook, web site, newsletters, teacher correspondence) specifically describe how and who a concerned person may request assistance for a child. We have found that caregivers who know a child best can provide the most valuable information to school personnel in determining a plan of intervention and/or decision to evaluate for a potential disability.

    Please contact the following if you have questions regarding Screening and Pre-Referral Processes in your child's school:

    Dr. Jill Little, (K-12) School Psycologist (814) 344-8506 / jlittle@chsd1.org

    Mrs. Aimee Dalby, (K-5) Early Intervening Coordinator (814) 344-8506 / adalby@chsd1.org

    Mr. Eric Nagel, (K-12) Student Supports Coordinator (814) 344-8506 / enagel@chsd1.org

    Mrs. Daria Wargo, (K-5) Elementary School Counselor (814) 344-8506 / dwargo@chsd1.org

    Mrs. Rhonda Sprenger, (6-8) Middle School Counselor (814) 674-6290 / rsprenger@chsd1.org

    Mrs. Kim McCullough & Mr. Jeff Koss, (9-12) High School Counselors (814) 674-3601 / kmccullough@chsd1.org / jkoss@chsd1.org

    Mr. Robert Diamond, (K-12) Director of Special Education and Student Services (814) 674-3601 / rdiamond@chsd1.org